Day 3: Patriarchy and Boeremeisie

While on the way home yesterday I stared contemplating what these short shorts mean. So I did some research and found an interesting blog from the Engelsman in Afrika, he writes about boer attire here. http://kevdieenglesman.wordpress.com/2011/08/17/boer-attire-the-lowdown/

According to Engelsman in Afrika in Boer Attire: The Lowdown. He found that and I quote “Moving southwards to the shorts, or ‘kort broek’. This item of the boer uniform can be described as ‘tight-fitting’ and little more than ‘minimalist’ in nature, displaying expansive portions of a boer’s thigh sections. It is rumoured that Alpha boer males will display more thigh flesh than their Beta male counterparts, however the statistical population which I have studied has delivered inconclusive results to confirm this fact. It is true however that the boere use thigh exposure to attract mates. To the boeremeisies dat kom van Bloemfontein af (and other similar boere strongholds), the sight of a man’s exposed (and possibly hairy) thigh is irresistible. Traditional shorts colour is again khaki, however to hide pee stains, which are extremely noticeable whilst wearing khaki, a wider variety of colours are available, ranging from forest green to navy blue. Like the shirt, boer shorts would never feature on an episode of Fashion TV.”

So my thigh muscles will be directly related on how much of a man I am and how many females I get. Too bad I don’t fill those as much. It all makes sense to me now, why my boet said I should rather wear long pants, at least that way I can still have some form of masculinity left and some chase with the boeremeisie.

This being said, I do have become somewhat more patriarchal in my views. It might be due to subconscious ideology that I am not particularly aware of as yet, or maybe my natural boer instinct are just kicking in. To provide for family and self, food, shelter, protection. I also felt a slight sense of pride for an instant followed by shame shortly after.

I even switched to Radio Sonder Grense (RSG) so that I can awaken my inner boer culture and maybe pick up on the latest agricultural trends from the Landbou Weekblad

Leave a comment